Login: Password:


Africa Business News

Africa Biz Construction and Business News

Major African Biennial 'Green' Architecture Award Now Accepting Entries

November 28, 2017

The 2017/18 AfriSam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture + Innovation, founded to recognize the importance of sustainable architecture design in Africa, is now open for entries.

Malawi School, Chimpamba Village, Mchinji, Malawi. One of the 2015/2016 AfriSam-SAIA Award-Winning Projects

This prestigious biennial award, founded by AfriSam and the South African Institute of Architects (SAIA), recognises the contributions that bring sustainable innovation to human living environments through an integrated approach to communities, planning, design, architecture, building practice, natural systems and technology.

“This award recognises the importance of ‘green’ building in a palpable way while enabling us to highlight and commend excellence shaping our communities for livable sustainability,” says Maryke Cronje, SAIA President and convenor for the 2017/18 Award.

As co-founder and sponsor of the Award, leading construction materials producer, AfriSam, continues its partnership with SAIA in bestowing the Award.

Apart from acknowledging excellence in Sustainable Architecture and Research in Sustainability, the Award also invites entries that make innovative contributions in the fields of Sustainable Products and Technology, and Sustainable Social Programmes.

According to Richard Tomes, Sales and Marketing Executive at AfriSam, the AfriSam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture + Innovation is a natural extension of the AfriSam brand and reflects the company’s commitment to sustaining the environment through responsible manufacturing processes.

“At AfriSam we believe in creating concrete possibilities.  This extends far beyond just the products that we manufacture. We believe that through responsible and sustainable business practices today, we are creating a future of possibilities for our children and their children.,’ he says.

Entries for the 2017/18 AfriSam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture + Innovation close at 00:00 on March 24 2018 and will be accepted in four categories:

  • Sustainable Architecture
  • Research in Sustainability
  • Sustainable Products and Technology, and
  • Sustainable Social Programmes

Project entries should demonstrate how they embody sound sustainable practices, that bear the hallmarks of great architectural or social design and innovative thinking in the field of sustainability, to improve our world.

These innovative solutions must comply with the following criteria:

1. Harmonisation

Do the design and related processes harmonise the use of resources with the conservation and strengthening of ecosystems (natural, social, human, financial, and infrastructure)?

2. People Upliftment

Do the design and related processes address the dignity of people through the creation of a socio-economic environment that is inclusive, humane, self-sustaining, maximises the financial viability, and acknowledge lifecycle cost efficiency during and after the implementation process?

3. Evolutionary Paradigm

Do the design and related processes contribute towards an ongoing regenerative future?

4. Placemaking Performance

Do the design and related processes enhance the architectural landscape and contextual urban environment including contributing to the qualitative human experience of place?

The adjudicators for the 2017/18 AfriSam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture + Innovation are Maryke Cronje (architect and President of the SAIA), Dr Sechaba Maape (sustainability architecture academic and architect), Philippa Tumubweinee (academic and co-founder of IZUBA INafrica Architects), Niraksha Singh (AfriSam Raw Materials and Sustainability Manager), Emmanuel Nkambule (academic with particular interest in the social environment) and Richard Stretton (founder of architecture and furniture design studio Koop Design).  Stretton received the 2010 and 2014 Afrisam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture and a 2014 Merit Award. 

Copyright: http://www.africabiz.link